The New Music Obsession – Rae Morris – From Above

I will be the first to admit, I am not the biggest fan of singer-songwriters. They have to be pretty damn special to get my attention. Don’t get me wrong, there are some great ones out there, especially so at the moment but it’s not something I would usually listen to on a regular basis. This tune however is very different,  I have had it on repeat for the last month and I’ve not grown tired of it.

I discovered Rae Morris whilst listening to Shoreditch Radio and her voice grabbed my attention and stopped me dead in my tracks. There is something about this track that really resonates with me and I myself am not even sure what it is, mainly because it could be many things. Rae’s voice is quite simply, beautiful. I follow the melody with ease and feel hugely connected when I listen to the song. When watching the video there are no airs and graces and once again, it is beautiful in it simplicity. Here is a young girl, completely natural, in her own domain telling us her story. Not only do I feel every word she is singing but I want to know more. She has an intriguing quality about her.

I’m sure that I am going to love the rest of her music just as much but right now I am too obsessed with this song to find out.

Follow Rae Morris on Twitter: https://twitter.com/raemorrismusic

Find out more about Rae: http://www.raemorris.co.uk/

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

